The Green Box Garden

Island Style Gardening & Plant Based Living

“Weeds” by Fuyuhiko Kitagawa

Leave a comment

photo: Imperial Palace East Gardens, Tokyo

Weeds

paying no attention to surroundings

are growing as they want to grow.

This scenery gives a feeling of contentment.

Although stepped on by people,

before we can be aware,

they have lengthened so much that one’s knees are hidden.

In some places

even a person’s body is lost from sight

there are such deep places.

This scenery gives a feeling of contentment.

When able to grow without limit

they should go ahead and spread out.

Even though not attractive

the plentiful flowers should open abundantly.

by Fuyuhiko Kitagawa (b. 1900)

from Anthology of Modern Japanese Poetry translated by Yuki Sawa

Author: Girl Replanted

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. I live with my handy hubby, fabulous Mama, growing son and have a wee baby on the way. :-) My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I started a new blog because I feel like there's a moment happening in my life, where I'm right at the edge of something. Not sure what yet- too soon to tell. But I needed a space and some words to try and get to it. It's mostly about gardening, food and plant-based living. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers