The Green Box Garden

Island Style Gardening & Plant Based Living

Tomato Picking

2 Comments

We finally have enough tomatoes to pick, collect in a container and bring in the house! Our previous attempts at tomatoes (and battling 27 various diseases that afflict tomatoes in Hawaii) had resulted in getting one pathetic little tomato every every week or so.  The boy was super excited to pick red and nearly-red ones and put in his “bucket” though it was a bit of over kill.
image

image

This was by far the best part of my day.  And then I went to the office and just sorta went downhill from there! image

Author: Girl Replanted

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. I live with my handy hubby, fabulous Mama, growing son and have a wee baby on the way. :-) My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I started a new blog because I feel like there's a moment happening in my life, where I'm right at the edge of something. Not sure what yet- too soon to tell. But I needed a space and some words to try and get to it. It's mostly about gardening, food and plant-based living. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Tomato Picking

  1. I have five HUGE tomato plants, and so far have a total of two small green tomatoes growing. It’s very distressing, and I understand your frustration. Last year I had tons of tomatoes growing by this time. I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers