The Green Box Garden

Island Style Gardening & Plant Based Living

Mommy’s Stash: Limoncello

3 Comments

Holy Heaven on my tongue and warmth in my tummy. No more cussing that lemon tree.  This is a good story with liqueur at the end.

One fine day, after I had been using lemons for cake, curd, marinade, tea and ‘ade- I was done. So sick of lemons and they just kept ripening.  So I did what any good gardener would do: I put bags full of them on the curb with a huge FREE LEMONS sign.  Maybe it’s the economy or people just love to see what you are doing setting bags on your curb, but I hadn’t even walked away from the 3-4 large Macy’s bags full of fruit when a car popped a u-turn and came zooming back.

“Hey! Don’t I know you from somewhere?” asked the driver, as her passenger hopped out to assess the citrus.  (This is a small island- the chances of knowing a passing driver is pretty high.)

“Why yes! We are becoming Master Gardeners together!” I replied.  We had only been in class a couple weeks and couldn’t yet remember everyone’s name.

“Can we take all these?” the passenger asked.  “Sure!” I replied.  “What are you gonna do with all these lemons?”

Making limoncello.

Ahhh. Excellent.  Gardeners with a taste for fine liqueur.  I knew we could be friends.

“Enjoy!” I called, as the car of friends and lemons left the curbside pickup.

Many weeks have gone by since that day, and I sort of forgot all about it.  But on our day to graduate from Master Gardener course, my new friend, Lisa, brought me the most lovely gift.  Her friend had indeed, made the most amazing limoncello, no plane ticket to Southern Italy required.

I have already written about how gardeners are the most generous sort of people you will ever meet- and this only furthers that claim, because this stuff is not easy to make.  It’s time consuming, many steps, and all I had to do was give away all that I couldn’t possibly use! How awesome for me!  Thanks ladies, and cheers.  This tired Momma now has a stash in the back of the fridge.

Now I shall sit back, enjoy the sunset, sip some sweetness and count my blessings.

Author: Girl Replanted

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. I live with my handy hubby, fabulous Mama, growing son and have a wee baby on the way. :-) My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I started a new blog because I feel like there's a moment happening in my life, where I'm right at the edge of something. Not sure what yet- too soon to tell. But I needed a space and some words to try and get to it. It's mostly about gardening, food and plant-based living. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

3 thoughts on “Mommy’s Stash: Limoncello

  1. a gardening friend is a friend in deed!! Limoncello – lucky you :)

  2. How seriously fantastic!!! Firstly, you are fantastic, for sharing those beautiful lemons – I can only dream of having the luck of being in a place where someone would be so kind as to share them for free with strangers! And secondly, fantastic that the goodness came back around to you in the form of homemade limoncello! WOW! I am kinda inspired to look into how it is made… I had some at an italian restaurant the other day and it took me straight back to Firenze….

    Enjoying your blog! Hoping some of your green fingers and sustainable nous will rub off on me =)

    • It’s like a little human connection every time I sit down with a wee sip of the goodness! Yet another reason I love Hawaii- generosity rubs off, and everyone is richer for it. Thanks for stopping by! :-)

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers