The Green Box Garden

Island Style Gardening & Plant Based Living

Broccoli Mac n “Cheese”

1 Comment

When friends give you avocados, you never turn them down. Even if your fridge runneth over with avocado, or you’ve already made enough guacamole to feed a small country or your nearly-5 year old says, “Not sliced avocado again!!” at snack time.

You just find new and ingenious ways to ingest them. And to trick others into eating them too.

I give you: Creamy Broccoli Mac and Cheese (makes two very generous portions)

All the creamy goodness...none of the cheese!

All the creamy goodness…none of the cheese!

So simple it’s ridiculous.

Put water on to boil water for pasta.

While you wait for that, chop up about 1.5 cups fresh broccoli. ¬†And make the “cheese” sauce.

Boil the pasta (about one cup dry) for about 2-3 minutes, then toss in the broccoli for the remainder to blanch it. Drain all together. Mix in the cheese sauce.

Garnish with Smoked Paprika. (Especially if you liked bacon as an omnivore, I can’t recommend this spice enough…put it on everything. Trust me) :-)

—-

“Cheese” sauce- Blend all this together:

1 avocado

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp turmeric

About 1/4 cup non dairy milk, or more to thin it out

Enjoy this with one episode of Clifford the Big Red Dog for a peaceful, mom approved lunch. :-)

 

Author: Girl Replanted

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. I live with my handy hubby, fabulous Mama, growing son and have a wee baby on the way. :-) My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I started a new blog because I feel like there's a moment happening in my life, where I'm right at the edge of something. Not sure what yet- too soon to tell. But I needed a space and some words to try and get to it. It's mostly about gardening, food and plant-based living. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

One thought on “Broccoli Mac n “Cheese”

  1. Awesome, I’ve got to try this! Though we don’t get so many avocados here in Kansas.

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 507 other followers