GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Mexican Lasanga: Vegetarian Style

2 Comments

image

Inspired by a boxed dinner I saw, I created my own less-processed version.

I’m not usually a food writer, and this dinner was not special or different in another other way than it disappeared faster than I could scoop it out of the pan. And next day leftovers (pictured above) are equally as good!ย  But this is “thinkingglobal” so I’ll make the connection by saying if we all eat less meat it’s better for the plant. There, I did my plug for vegetarianism. Now, for the food!

In a skillet:

Saute an onion till soft

Add 12 oz of veggie protein (soy based)

(turn your oven on now, at 350 degrees)

While this cooks, stir together in a bowl:

1.5 cup water

8 oz tomato sauce

To taste, or at least 1 tsp of each (you could also use a seasoning packet for tacos):

  • Chili powder
  • cilantro
  • cumin
  • Dash of spicy stuff

For extra nutrition, I tossed into the skillet 1 cup each of frozen chopped spinach and 1 cup mixed veggies. Stir in 1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained.

Pour 1 cup of the sauce mixture into the skillet. Let it cook covered until all the frozen stuff is cooked.

Make layers in a baking dish in this order:

  1. Whole wheat flour tortillas
  2. Bean/Protein mixture
  3. sprinkle cheese
  4. drizzle of sauce

Repeat (I used 6 or 8 tortillas, each layer had 1.5 tortillas)

End with tortillas, cheese on top (in all I used about 1.5 cups of shredded cheese). Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and browning at the edges.

Top with fresh chopped tomatoes and cilantro.ย  And since my family eats a whole lot these days, we also had steamed carrots on the side.

Yummy! And to make it vegan, you could just omit the cheese or use a soy-based one instead. Blended pinto beans would be a nice topper too, would make it a little gooey like the cheese. ๐Ÿ™‚

*Toddler Take on this dinner: Asking for seconds before Mommy had eaten all of hers!

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Mexican Lasanga: Vegetarian Style

  1. i made my own taco seasoning and shake n bake seasoning from recipes from allrecipes.com becuase i don’t want the processed seasonings. i want to know what’s in my food and seasoning packets. when i was looking at the ingredients list on the box, i thought, ‘there isn’t anything in this box that i can’t throw together on my own at home.’ so i did. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yay! I love that. I also don’t buy much “packets” anymore, but do feel lazy occasionally, but typically end up adding more fresh herbs or whatever anyway to boost it a bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments

