GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Some Love for Farmer’s Markets

2 Comments

The colors, the smells, the textures and the FOOD! I love Thursdays because I get to spend it with my favorite people (mom, the kid and the hubs) and usually bump into other favorite people and friends too! We get to talk story about our week, all while balancing dishes of food in our hands and typically gathered around a small bench that we move in on like piranhas. (Benches are at a premium in this crowded market!)

Want flowers? Get ’em here! Fresh orchids for way cheaper than floral shops.

image

Ever had a Ho Farms cucumber? Almost as good as our backyard ones! And their heirloom tomatoes are like candy.

image

E’s favorite: Fresh Grilled Pesto Pizza! He can eat like 3 pieces, though at $6 each, we don’t.

image

My new favorite spot! Licious Dishes– all raw vegan food, and don’t even roll your eyes, this stuff was really tasty. I had the Not Tuna Salad as a sample (took some home for lunch) and for dinner I had the lasagna- layered to perfection!

image

Talk about fresh! They almost brought the tree these tangerines (oranges?) came from.

image

And if you have never had a rambutan, please try one! Today! They are sweet, sort of look like eye balls when you peel off the pink spikes; fun to munch on.

image

So here was our haul from last week- two stuffed fabric grocery bags with about 5 days worth of produce (for our house). And I was super excited to find white beets! Red ones are so fussy and stain everything, so white or gold ones are much easier, but you can’t find them in supermarkets.

image

My only complaint about the market is the lack of places to sit and eat properly, like with a fork.  We usually can find a bench to share between the 4 of us, with friends gathering around too. But other times we pull up a curb or just sit on the sidewalk.  So what if nice tables and chairs with umbrellas were added? Who would do it? The already overworked farmers selling greens? Nope, probably not.

Besides, tables might make it all a bit too fancy, and that is the whole point. I’d rather keep fighting with the pigeons for my dinner.

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Some Love for Farmer’s Markets

  1. Ah, the experience of a farmer’s market is so much nicer than your typical supermarket experience!

Comments

