GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Talk Dirt to Me

Leave a comment

Frugal family fun: scooping dirt.

Cheap gardeners that we are, spending more than $50 on garden beds would just be ridiculous.  And if we purchased that expensive garden soil in bags there’s no way I would have let the munchkin toss it around and spread it all over himself. Cute, but not that cute.

I’m happy to report that they didn’t cost more than that.  Free pallets, $10 exterior paint and screened compost mix in bulk = about $45 for the whole set up.  Of course we had to buy plants, but more on that later, the whole plants vs. seeds conundrum.

The beauty of dirt though- that is something to ponder.  I remember a soil scientist I heard speak once say “All things are TNS.”  The audience waited for the punchline.

“Temporarily Not Soil.”

How true that is- that all things come from the soil and at another time, will return to it.  There are more microorganisms in one teaspoon of soil than there are people on the planet.

So how fortunate and blessed we all were to spend several hours playing in it.

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

Comments

