GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Little Dirty Hands

Leave a comment

Small saggy wet shorts

Tiny feet squishing dirt

Insists on helping with everything

Watch carefully- make sure he’s not hurt

Not too little

Will soon understand

What is drainage and mulch

And companion plants.

This day will pass

He’ll drive away in his car

Leaving me to plant alone

Bottle time in a jar.

My little garden helper

Eats greens like candy

Sun-kissed glow

Scoops

Carries

Waters

Really quite handy.

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

Comments

