GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Fun Sun Art

5 Comments

Sometimes you just need to take off the gloves and have a little fun in the garden! Garden Inspired Art!  I thought this would be so fun to do with my son (ha!) He was totally uninterested.

Yeah, I know it says for ages “6+” and our munchkin is a few years shy of that- but whatever. Maybe Mommy wanted to do Sun Art. It’s pretty cool.  And Made in the USA!

Well stocked art supply stores will probably have some, but I ordered mine from Amazon.

Kindergarteners could definitely do this- and I might even work it into a lesson with some middle-schoolers I sometimes do activities with.  So simple.  You just put the objects on top of the blue paper, place the plastic on top and wait 3 minutes while it is in the hot sun.  For 3 minutes I protected my old cookie sheet from offending dogs, rogue beach balls and the uninterested pre-schooler who suddenly became interested in throwing water on my amazing work of art.

After 3 minutes, quickly rinse with cold water and voila! Let it dry.  The color darkens as it sits for a bit.  Since it’s supposed to be “cool water” might want to run your garden hose for a minute or two before spraying like I did with hot-solarized-water from the hose.  Duh. (Did I say a kindergartener could do this?)

I can’t really complain, the boy typically does want to help with everything outside.  I’m sure in one more year he will want to do cheesy art with his Mommy.  Right?

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

5 thoughts on “Fun Sun Art

  1. My daughter would love that. I have never heard of it before,but I am definitely going to go and see if I can get the kit. Thanks for sharing Carmen. Your picture came out very pretty!

  2. What fun! It could be a science lesson too. My Dad was a Physics prof who taught photography. The first lesson was to make a pinhole camera out of cardboard and take pictures with it. Kinda similar, though the paper required developing with chemicals.

  3. Fabulous! I love the effect, this post-schooler is impressed 🙂

Comments

