GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Toddler-Sized Zucchini Bake

10 Comments

imageYeah, that’s a zucchini.  Welcome to gardening in the tropics, friends.  This thing could feed a small country.

I have grown these in the past, but this one came from a friend who was generously giving them away! And who refuses free garden veggies? Not me.

So what to do with this thing? Well, it sat on the counter for a couple days for everyone to discuss and make comments about.  Then I made my first move.  Soup.  I cut off the top third, diced it up and cooked it with other leftover carrots, potatoes, beans and some tasty vegetable broth.  Easy, made a huge pot and it was delicious.

But there’s still two-thirds of this thing left! So middle third became this:

A yummy mac and cheese inspired vegan bake! 

“Noodles”

3-4 zucchini (or in our case, 1/3 of Dino-sized veg)

Sauce:

1 cup cashews

1/3 cup chopped red bell pepper

1/4 cup water

4 teaspoons lemon juice

3 tablespoons olive oil

3 tablespoons nutritional yeast

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 very small clove garlic

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Topping (optional):

Walnuts and a pinch of salt

What to Do:

First I had to make this thing fit on my cutting board:

Then cut the zucchini into long strips like “noodles.”  The recipe says use a veggie peeler, but I found that too difficult and I broke it, so huge sharp knife worked well.

Then make the sauce:

Sauce

1) Blend all ingredients until smooth and creamy.

2) Toss with the noodles spread into a shallow dish.

3) Add topping and dehydrate for 1-2 hours at 115F.

Topping (optional):

1) chop walnuts, sprinkle salt over, and spread over the noodles/sauce. (I added some old bread, ground flax and leftover melba toasts too- not “raw” but nice and crunchy!)

A few thoughts on this recipe:

The flavor is really good- the texture wasn’t for me, initially, after “dehydrating” for over an hour.  I took it out, tasted it, and it was still just raw zucchini with sauce.  So I turned up the heat to 350 degrees for another 30 minutes, and this was better.  The topping got crunchy and flavors started to meld together in the dish.  Raw food enthusiasts, I’m sure to offend on this pillaging of a great recipe, but the hubs and kid both had seconds!  If I were to refer someone to this recipe I would not call it “Mac n Cheese” because it’s not, and I believe our friend the zucchini deserves a place center stage!

And in this case, we have no choice but to place that zucchini up front.  He doesn’t fit anywhere else.

Now, what to do with the remaining third….

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

10 thoughts on “Toddler-Sized Zucchini Bake

  1. OK, I have to laugh, because when I saw the title “toddler-sized” I thought you meant the recipe was a nice small size, a suitable serving for a toddler to eat for lunch. I didn’t realize the zucchini was actually toddler sized!! LOL

  2. DANG! That’s a really tall zucchini! I’m impressed. I’ve never made zucchini bake before, but now I’m interested in trying it out.

  3. WOW that really could feed a family for a few weeks hehe. Gotta love that about vegetables 🙂 What are you going to do with the last 1/3 of it lol x

  4. Oh that sounds so much better than zuke bread! (though quick breads go over well at our house) We are all chocolate fiends. Love the casserole, will have to try that if we get some humongo zukes this summer. Won’t be in season for 3 or 4 months.

Comments

