GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

The Truth About Genetically Modified Organisms – GMO’s

Leave a comment

I’ve been following many discussions on GMO foods on blogs, news and personal dialogue. Personally, I refuse to be given the condescending pat on the head from Big Company that I need not worry, GMOs are safe! Stop being reactionary and paranoid! That is how anti-GMO people are often characterized. But I’m a science-y kind of person, and when the company who controls more than 50% of all seed in the WORLD admits that they have never done human trials on their products, that is a huge red flag for me. Read the blog, then read Monsanto’s explanations here: http://www.monsanto.com/newsviews/Pages/food-safety.aspx

Two Barn Farm

I’m very proud to introduce a Guest Blogger writing an important/must-read piece concerning GMO’s. It’s a fantastic article that could also be titled; Everything You Ever Wanted to Know about GMO’s. Please share with others and leave your comments and questions below, Chris will answer them…..Take it away Mr. Vogliano:

My name is Chris Vogliano and I am currently studying nutrition and dietetics at Kent State University in their Master’s Program.  I am conducting my thesis study on the topic of Genetically Modified Organisms related to Dietitian’s knowledge and perception of them.  According to previous research, the public trusts dietitian’s to relay current and scientific information on this controversial topic.  However, as I hope to prove in my research, there is a significant knowledge gap in the perception of what dietitian’s know versus the knowledge they actually hold.

I chose this topic because genetically modified foods is personal and strikes…

View original post 860 more words

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

Comments

