GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Frittata v. Zombies

11 Comments

If the zombies come, we won’t starve.

Because for the first time ever, I made a complete meal from our own backyard.

Ha. Take that, Creepy Green Eyes!

I feel confident about many other things in life- but writing a letter to zombies or challenging them to a spelling bee is not going work.  One needs a bit more practical skills when dealing with this level of gruesomeness. If you don’t believe me, you should check the Centers for Disease Control Zombie Blog for more tips on how to survive their impending attack.

A few months ago if I were driving home from work and I knew that I hadn’t been to the grocery store in three weeks, I would have been having a mild panic attack.

“Ugh! What am I going to make for dinner! We have nothing in the house. Maybe I should stop and pick up some stuff…”

Or worse, “Maybe I should stop and get pizza.”

But what if there were no pizza? Or what if there was no food at the store? What if the zombies ate it all? Or what if our little island had some kind of natural disaster that prevented the 85% of food from getting here?

But I’ve changed.  I’ve changed because our yard has changed.  It is no longer just a place to throw a ball and let the dogs run around.  It has become a small little site of production.

I feel a small but significant confidence growing in me.  By going through trial and error, bug infestation, end rot on tomatoes, rodent problems and leggy seedlings- learning how to feed ourselves is one of the most interesting journeys I’ve ever taken.  It could be the most radical too- my little resistance to the System, in the form of frittata.  And I heard that zombies don’t like frittata.

My recipe for one of the most amazingly yummy frittatas ever:

Bunch of Swiss chard

Large cut handful of arugula

Herbs: marjoram, thyme, basil, oregano

Green onions

Tomatoes

4-5 fresh brown eggs from the lovely ladies, Rosie & Red

Wash, chop and saute the greens in a skillet.

Mix the eggs with chopped herbs.

Pour over the sauteed greens and let it cook slowly.

Flip it over onto a plate, top with green onions and fresh tomatoes and almost fool the preschooler into thinking you stopped for pizza.

Serve with salad and some fresh mango. (Mango post to come later, but I’ve started guerrilla-hunting this fruit as we no longer have a tree.)

Eating our way to zombie apocalypse-preparedness.  This I can do.

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

11 thoughts on “Frittata v. Zombies

  1. Congratulations! It will be while before we are even picking ours. It’s such a great feeling isn’t it? Looks yummy!

    • It does feel good! I’m just pleased I’m able to grow anything, frankly. The weather might be nice, but there are unique challenges that I don’t remember having on the mainland…fungus that takes over in 24 hours and beetles so big I worry they might carry off my child if I’m not careful! 🙂

  2. Looks scrumptious! So there, zombies! They can have the take out pizza. 🙂

  3. A whole meal from your backyard – congrats! That is terrific!

  4. I’m coming over to your house when the Zombie apocalypse. HAHA. Your frittata looks so good, I want to take a bite of it! I think it’s so cool how self sustain you are right now. I wish I could be the same way.

    I just bought some rhubarb and I heard it supposed to be good for high blood pressure. I’m trying to figure out what to with it. I know I can make it into a pie, but I don’t know if that’s something I want to make.

    • My mom used to make a yummy rhubarb spice cake. I was never a big fan of the stuff myself, but if zombies come, rhubarb might be the thing they don’t like! 🙂

      And we are such a work in progress. This was one meal- we are a long ways from sustaining ourselves, but each baby step counts, right? Thanks for stopping by!

  5. That looks incredibly yummy!

Comments

