GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

In the Capable Hands of the Mema

6 Comments

We must go away for many days, and leave the garden in the hands of my mom. My son calls her Mema. And while she professes to know nothing about gardening and insisted I leave a detailed list of things to do to care for the dogs, aquaponics fish, seedlings, chickens, and freshly planted carrots and corn- I have full faith that she knows what she is doing.  This is a woman who used to stop along side the road, get out and cut something she liked with scissors, stick it in water and grow it without much thought to how or if it would work.  Clearly there’s a bit of green in that thumb.  My concern is for how huge everything might get in the days we are away! Already crowded, my little Green Box Garden is packed to the max- and some things are ready to be pulled out and eaten!

Maybe I can convince her to set up a roadside stand and sell the extra lettuce, basil, eggs, scallions, spinach and arugula that are threatening to take over. I see it now: my mom under a market umbrella in her little straw hat, crocheting and selling produce. I like it.  You should totally do it Mom.  You can spend your earnings on more yarn! 🙂

In the mean time, send some love and positive anti-bug vibes our way.  I must leave my little garden for a few days and I will miss her.

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

6 thoughts on “In the Capable Hands of the Mema

  1. Have a great time. I am sure she will take good care of your gardens. I never thought about what we would do if we had to leave ours for any amount of time. I guess I should set up a plan in advance!

  2. anti-bug vibes, I don’t have any to spare! The grasshoppers are out of control, and they’re not even big yet!

    • Yuck! I hate grasshoppers. They are so heavy when they land on you, it’s like a small animal! When I was growing up our 100+ chickens were let out to free range 2-3 times a week which kept the population in check!

  3. Pingback: Nothing Dies | The Green Box Garden

Comments

