GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Farm Fair Watercress Salad

4 Comments

The 2012 Hawaii Farm Fair was earlier this month and I spent a whole day out there talking tree grafting with other Master Gardeners, sampling local farm produce and hanging with the family doing pony rides and bouncy houses. Good times had by all!

We brought home a HAUL of farm fresh produce for some great prices.  Papaya, watermelon, eggplant, Maui sugar, Kona coffee, avocado, pineapple and corn.  Lucky live Hawaii, for sure.  I came home with a bunch of watercress from Sumida Farms in Pearl City. I used to drive past this every day when we lived on that side of the island, and it is a true anomaly.  There you are, sitting in bumper to bumper traffic, concrete all around you, strip malls, parking lots, traffic lights and wait- is that a farm? Yes it is.  And they grow some tasty green stuff.

Here’s a light summer salad- totally vegan and if you live Hawaii- can make almost completely from local producers.

Adapted from Sumida Farm Watercress Recipes “May’s Tofu  Salad”

1 Block Aloha Tofu, firm cut in cubes

1/2 Medium Maui Onion, diced

1 medium tomato from the Green Box Garden, cubed

1 bunch Sumida Farm Watercress, cut into 1 inch pieces

1/2 cup chopped Green Box Garden green onions

Dressing:

1/4 oil (Oils of Aloha Mac Nut oil is good)

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup Aloha Shoyu (soy sauce)

1 tbs sesame oil

Juice of 1/2 Green Box Garden Lemon

It’s a salad, so you know, you mix it all together and put the dressing on!  If you make it ahead, you can drain off excess water from the salad before putting dressing on and serving.  The original recipe calls for cooking the garlic first, but I’m too lazy to do that, plus I like strong garlic.

The Small Boy ate most of my place of this! He loves the green onions, tofu and shoyu flavors.

Tara Hummus from Kauai! This stuff is tasty- and available on Oahu at the Kapiolani Community College farmers market and Mililani Market.

Sampling the delicious Maui Gold, super sweet pineapple!

 

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

4 thoughts on “Farm Fair Watercress Salad

  1. OH MY!!! I just want to eat that salad up and I don’t normally like salad. I can’t wait to try this recipe out. Thank you so much for sharing. There is something about watercress that is so refreshing. I love the Korean style watercress that you get at any (if not all) restaurants.

    Sumida Farms….such a classic place. Any time I think of watercress, I think of that farm. I hope it stays there forever.

    Taro hummus….I’ve never had nor heard of that. It must be so yummy!!!!

    • It’s ono! Even the Small Boy wanted more! You are right, the watercress is so refreshing and tofu makes it filling, so it’s a meal. Thanks for visiting! Some day, we shall meet in person! 🙂

  2. YUM YUM and don’t get me started on how excited I am to see TARO HUMMUS!!!!

Comments

