GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Vegan Dining: Greens & Vines

Leave a comment

I don’t do restaurant reviews very often, but sometimes you just want to share something great for local folks or if visitors to my blog come to Oahu they should definitely visit Greens & Vines, on the corner of Kapiolani and Ward Ave.  They do exclusively raw and vegan gourmet foods and after talking with the server and manager, also learned that they buy local and organic whenever possible.  Our family has been through some stuff this past year and dietary changes, including eating meat and dairy again, crept back in while we were focused on other things. But as we talked about returning to our previously vegan ways, I wanted to take my Mama out for a nice dinner that included some things neither of us had eaten before.

We started with the Not Tuna on Onion Bread, and frankly, could have just eaten this the whole night! It was so tasty!

Not Tuna on Onion Bread

Not Tuna on Onion Bread

For an entree, I had the Living Lasagna and my mom had Caesar Salad, both were delicious.

Living Lasagna

Living Lasagna

And we shared the Chocolate Tart for dessert, but it was gone so fast I forgot to get a photo! 🙂 Overall it was great! They have a small amount of parking in their shared building and we got there early so it was quiet for dinner, but the place was filling up when we left.  They do take reservations and you can sit outside if you want, though we opted for air conditioning!

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

Comments

