GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Kale and Sweet Potato Soup

Leave a comment

image

Even in Hawaii we have chilly, rainy nights when you just want soup! Plus the kale was taking over in the garden and I needed to cut more than just a few leaves to let some herbs breathe. This recipe from Happy Herbivore calls for 5 cups of kale and I put in more than that because I love kale. 🙂

image

I grow two varieties, a dinosaur kale and a curly variegated one. Add some local sweet potatoes and onion and this soup is so simple but so delicious!  I resisted my usual urge to add in more stuff- and I’m so glad! The balance of flavors is really good and it disappeared quickly.

image

Saute the onion, add the broth and potatoes, boil, add spices, add kale at end. I was done in 15 minutes, including the time it took to cut the kale from the garden.  Quick, easy healthy dinner makes a Happy Mama. 🙂

image

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

Comments

