GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

More Monarch Rescue Saga

1 Comment

wpid-20140731_114304.jpgI feel a bit like the dog who chases cars and then one day, actually catches one. Now what do I with it?

Our crown flower is HUGE. And I started noticing a lot of bird activity on the plant and I felt super mad all of a sudden. No! This is not a buffet for birds! Those little caterpillars are endangered and there’s plenty of other bugs, fruit and berries for you to eat over there in the forest. Get out of here!

So I took my scissors outside and started cutting leaves to rescue all the little caterpillars I could find. And today I found 7. There’s evidence of many more, but I’m afraid I was too slow.

They are in various stages of growth but I think in the next two weeks we should be releasing seven new butterflies! 🙂

wpid-20140910_095012.jpg

Our countertop is now a hatchery! And if you ever wondered what do to with those old diskette boxes from the 90’s, here’s a plan:

wpid-20140910_095041.jpg

For earlier discussion on our mission to save as many monarch butterflies as possible:

https://greenboxgarden.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/saving-the-monarch/

https://greenboxgarden.wordpress.com/2014/05/08/monarch-rescue/

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

One thought on “More Monarch Rescue Saga

Comments

