GROW O'ahu

Island Style Gardening and Plant-Based Living

Gardening is More Fun with Friends

2 Comments

Many years ago when I was spending a lot of time in a ceramics studio, someone made the comment to our teacher, “Why do you still commute over here? Don’t you have a studio in your home?”

I will never forget what he said.

“Yes, I do. But then I’d be that lonely guy just throwing teacups in my garage. This is more fun.”

There’s so many hobbies, pastimes and in fact occupations that can be done on your own. But I’m an extrovert and a social person and while I do occasionally love the quiet solitude of my gardening endeavors, most of the time I would love someone to chat with.

I was so pleased to find that a local Facebook group I belong to was having a “seedling swap” this morning. In my experience, there are few “online” communities which become real communities, so this seemed fun. And it was! I brought home a bunch of papaya, some varieties of basil, daikon and an unusual tree, the chermoya.

Seedlings on the curb, waiting for the swapping :-)

Seedlings on the curb, waiting for the swapping πŸ™‚

And look! They even blog about stuff!! Have I finally found my peeps? πŸ™‚

Aloha friends, and happy gardening!

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; cloth-diapering; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor play; beaches; wine; Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; litterbugs; the zombie apocalypse and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I'm also a Lactation Educator; 4-H Youth Development coordinator a Certified Master Gardener and a graduate of a Permaculture Design Course. I've been blogging for several years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Please be kind. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Gardening is More Fun with Friends

  1. Yes! We’re your peeps! Great post Carmen, and great meeting you at the swap!

Comments

