GROW O'ahu

Home Gardening in the 808

A blog comeback?!

Leave a comment

It’s been a minute! So many things have changed since I was working on this blog regularly. Do people even read blogs anymore? Most of my gardening adventures have been posted on my personal facebook page.

I’m going to rewind about 6 months, back to September 2019. I was just in the clear to do physical things again, post c-section. I had also realized that my full time job wasn’t for me anymore, due to so many things. I was frustrated, sad and battling a serious case of postpartum depression. So I went outside and dug up my side yard with a baby strapped to the front of me.

I wrote this as a caption on Instagram:

Not new information here for folks who talk to me regularly but digging and sweating are like meditation. Things become clear in the garden. I’ve been committed to my own growth and to seeking justice and changing systems and making this planet livable for my grandchildren’s children. I’m not bothering with humans who don’t believe me, trust me or respect me anymore. Goodbye. ✌🏼My people have always been those I’ve found at the edges; outliers who question things, shine light into dark places and bring people up with them, and there’s no time for anything else. A radical shift has occurred and if you are not feeling it, stop. Quiet yourself and get in touch with God or Ancestors or Mother Earth. Because things are changing and our human “systems” are not going to save us. Who are my people who know this?! ✊🏼Raise your hands! It is our collective nature that will save us; our love. Not government. Not politics. Not courts. Love. ❤️ And we need food so: Go dig. Grow stuff. 

I had no idea how prophetic that would seem, given where we are now in our world pandemic crisis and seemingly complete meltdown. Who are we anymore? And still, the answer is, go, grow stuff. In that effort I’m going to do a “socially distanced” gardening info session with a local gardening group tomorrow morning. It will probably be really messy and unprofessional and something will break or a child will be screeching in the background- but oh well. I have a history of being paralyzed by the fear of imperfection so doing this is good for me. In my professional life I would agonize over the symmetry of the slides in a presentation or want to make sure I had 3+ sources of information at the ready to field questions. This won’t be like that. 🙂 LOL

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor adventures, Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; bad public policy and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I've also been a Lactation Educator; 4-H professional, a Certified Master Gardener/Permaculture Design and spent 15 years working to end domestic and sexual violence. I probably still have powerpoint on all these topics. I've been blogging for many years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Be a kind human. Thanks.

Comments