GROW O'ahu

Home Gardening in the 808

Happy Herbivore Light & Lean: Peanut Soba Noodles

1 Comment

 

Light and Lean_Tour blogger badgeI feel really great about writing this book/recipe review today because Lindsay Nixon, aka The Happy Herbivore, has helped make my own transition to a plant-based diet simple, painless and actually fun.  I have the original Happy Herbivore cookbook, Happy Herbivore Abroad and now Light & Lean.  When I learned that she was looking for blog writers to review the book I was excited!

I share my life and home with an awesome husband, a four and a half year old son, my mom, a newborn baby and many animals…so the transition to plant-based living has had logistical challenges to say the least, and I have met some resistance from time to time. *ahem* 🙂 However, Lindsay’s books have helped so much because the recipes are simple, easy, use stuff we usually have on hand and the hubs and my mom have both gotten in on the cooking.

A few nights ago we made this: Peanut Soba Noodles and it was delicious! We made ours with shelled organic edamame, organic soba noodles and fresh green onions and cucumber from the garden. We omitted the hot sauce for our son, but if I made it again, I think I would add a dash for myself. 🙂

Soba Peanut Noodles

Soba Peanut Noodles
Serves 2
Gluten-free, Quick, Budget
All the taste you love in creamy peanut noodles but with less fat and calories thanks to a surprise ingredient: vegan yogurt! I call this a “cheater” recipe since I use a dab of peanut butter, but it’s still light compared to most peanut noodle recipes.
4 oz buckwheat noodles (could sub spaghetti)
2 green onions, sliced cubed tofu or edamame (optional)
vegetables, like broccoli or cucumber (optional)
Creamy Peanut Sauce
2 tbsp plain vegan yogurt
1 tbsp smooth peanut butter
1 tbsp sweet red chili sauce
few dashes garlic powder
few dashes ground ginger
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1–2 tsp low-sodium soy sauce or gluten-free tamari
Asian hot sauce (e.g., Sriracha; optional)
Cook noodles according to package instructions, rinse under cold water in a colander, and chill in the fridge for a few minutes if you can. Meanwhile, whisk peanut sauce ingredients together. Taste, adding more soy sauce or tamari, garlic, onion, or hot sauce as desired. Toss noodles with sauce, then stir in green onion, tofu or edamame if using, and vegetables, if using.
Chef’s Note: Despite having “wheat” in the name, buckwheat flour is completely gluten-free. Just make sure your noodles are 100% buckwheat if you have an allergy or sensitivity.
Per serving
Calories . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .274
Fat. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6g
Carbs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 47.5g
Fiber. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .6.6g
Sugars. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6.7g
Protein. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10.4g
WW Points. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

Simple, easy plant-based recipes are Lindsay’s trademark, and I love them especially because there is usually at least on or two ingredients I can reach into my garden and grab, like the green onions and cucumbers here.  And as our whole family works on healthier living this year, we plan to use the Meal Plans, which remove the stress of planning, list-making and thinking about what to eat! Check them out: Happy Herbivore Meal Plans (gluten & soy free!).

Author: Carmen

Things I love: justice in all forms; flowers; locally grown food; breastfeeding; feminist theory; outdoor adventures, Divine interventions; 4-H and coffee. Things I loathe: racism; homophobia; toxic crap; misogyny; bad public policy and pitbull-haters. My formal education is in sociology, gender studies, and public policy. I've also been a Lactation Educator; 4-H professional, a Certified Master Gardener/Permaculture Design and spent 15 years working to end domestic and sexual violence. I probably still have powerpoint on all these topics. I've been blogging for many years on dozens of topics- everything from women's health to breed-specific legislation. But the thing I like to write about most is my gardening, food adventures and my kids. So there you have it. Be a kind human. Thanks.

One thought on “Happy Herbivore Light & Lean: Peanut Soba Noodles

  1. Pingback: Vegan Deviled “Eggs” & Cookbook Giveaway | the taste space

Comments